IL-IN District of the American Rose Society and local Rose Societies use award programs in three ways:

  • To recognize volunteers and donors for their contribution.
  • To praise volunteers for reaching anniversary milestones.
  • To commemorate organizational accomplishments.

Below are the winners of three very prestigious awards given at the District level:

  • Silver Honor Medal Award
  • Outstanding Consulting Rosarian
  • Outstanding Judges Award


The Silver Honor Medal Award (SHM) is the most prestigious and the highest award at the District Level of the American Rose Society. Each District may annually award the American Rose Society Silver Honor Medal to any ARS member who is an official member of that District who, in the opinion of the District Awards Committee, has provided meritorious service to the rose and its culture, for efforts expended in support of the American Rose Society and its objectives within the District.

The Silver Honor Medal is considered a life-time achievement and is only awarded once to an individual.



The Outstanding Consulting Rosarian Award is the highest District Award given to Consulting Rosarians (CR) for their work.

All nominees must be American Rose Society members, must actively take part in a local society of the District for which the award is given.

All nominees should have been active Consulting Rosarians for ten years. This includes but is not limited to: Participation in Local and District Society activities (such as rose clinics, speaking / presenting at meetings, authoring articles for newsletters, serving on Local and District Society Boards, etc.). Demonstration of competency in all knowledge areas of local rose culture. Serve as a faculty member of a Consulting Rosarian School / Audit or Rose Culture Workshop.

2020 OUTSTANDING CR AWARD: Frank Devries


The Outstanding Judges Award is the highest District Award given to either Horticulture and/or Arrangement Judges for their contributions.

The judges selected for this award have demonstrated unusual dedication over a substantial number of years. Any judge, regardless of years of experience, who has made a major contribution to the art of judging, may be considered. This award is to serve as an incentive for judges to strive for excellence.

As you see from the lists of names, the IL IN District has a rich heritage of talented, hard working advocates for the rose. We  continue to honor those who came before us as we honor and appreciate those who provide strong leadership for us now.


It is the love of roses that brings us together, but it is lifelong friendships that keep us together.